The Palace of Justice
The Palace of Justice was built between 1890 and 1895 in French Neo-Renaissance style, after the plans of French architect Albert Ballu (1849-1939).
The main facade on the waterfront is dominated by six strong pillars and six allegorical statues (Law, Rightfulness, Justice, Truth, Strength and Prudence), created by famous Romanian-German sculptor Karl Storck.
Inside the building is the “Hall of the Lost Steps”, with a reference to those losing trials.
In 1985 Romanian dictator Ceausescu intended to have it demolished, plans were already drawn for its removal, and the fact that it survived is still widely considered a divine miracle.